Explore Britain

A personal guide to exploring Great Britain (The United Kingdom). Here you will find articles, rough guides and useful information that can help you learn more about the country or help you plan a future trip.

The United Kingdom (Great Britain or Britain) is made up of four countries:

  • England – the largest of the four countries
    • Capital: London (which is also the largest city in England)
    • Language spoken: English
  • Scotland – the northern most country of the UK
    • Capital: Edinburgh
    • Languages spoken: English, Scots and Gaelic
  • Wales – the country to the west of England, its capital is
    • Capital: Cardiff
    • Languages spoken: English and Welsh
  • Northern Ireland – a country also to the west of England and part of the island of Ireland, it’s capital is
    • Capital: Belfast
    • Languages spoken: English and Irish (Irish Gaelic)

Exploring London Article Series

map of London boroughs
Map of London Boroughs

London is perhaps the most well known city in the United Kingdom and one of the top tourist destinations in the world. In this series of articles we will explore the main tourist areas of London, the different boroughs and the lesser known parts of the city.

London’s boroughs breakdown:

  • Central London
    • Camden
    • City of London
    • Chelsea (K&C on the map)
    • Fulham (H&F on the map)
    • Greenwich
    • Hackney
    • Hammersmith (H&F on the map)
    • Islington
    • Kensington (K&C on the map)
    • Lambeth
    • Lewisham
    • Newham
    • Southwark
    • Tower Hamlets
    • Wandsworth
    • Westminster
    • West End
  • Greater London
    • Barking & Dagenham
    • Barnet
    • Bexley
    • Brent
    • Bromley
    • Croydon
    • Ealing
    • Enfield
    • Haringey
    • Harrow
    • Havering
    • Hillingdom
    • Hounslow
    • Kingston upon Thames
    • Merton
    • Redbridge
    • Richmond upon Thames
    • Sutton
    • Waltham Forest